Skip to content

If you have merges set to automatically delete the branch on merge, no prompt happens in vs code to delete the local branch and switch back like it does with manual button clicking. #8892

Description

  • Extension version:
    0.163.2026082104
  • VSCode Version: 1.134.0
  • OS: Macos 26
  • Repository Clone Configuration (single repository/fork of an upstream repository): Single repository.
  • GitHub Product (GitHub.com/GitHub Enterprise version x.x.x): standard.

Steps to Reproduce:

  1. Set your repo defaults to squish and merge and delete on merge.
    2.Create a pull request using the extension.
  2. Click the "Merge Pull Request" button in the tab that shows the pr.

The branch will be deleted on github. But unlike when you click teh delete button manually after merge, it doesn't prompt to delete local and thus doesn't delete it and doesn't move back to main and sync.

Which results in 3 extra steps every time.

Activity

Sign up for free to join this conversation on GitHub. Already have an account? Sign in to comment

Metadata

Metadata

Labels

bugIssue identified by VS Code Team member as probable bugverifiedVerification succeeded

Type

No type

Projects

No projects

    Milestone

    Relationships

    None yet

    Development

    No branches or pull requests

    Issue actions